Travel Paintbox

I’ve been enjoying my little travel set of art supplies, so I decided to improve my paintbox. It’s an old tin that’s gold-colored on the inside, which made it hard to see what color my paint mixtures were.

All I did was pour some white enamel inside the lid. Easy! I used a sewing pin to pop the little air bubbles before it dried so the surface would be smooth.

I let it dry for a few days, then set about choosing the most useful colors.

The final selection was:

Alizarin crimson
Yellow ochre
Lemon yellow
Cerulean blue (?)
Lamp black
Burnt Umber
Ultramarine deep
Permanent red light

The Schmincke colors came in a small set and I really like how they work together.

It took some time to decide which colors belonged next to each other, considering my preferred color mixtures. Colors for skin tones on one side, everything else on the other side.

Let’s watch paint dry, shall we?

Once dry, it’s ready to go. I added my favorite portable tools.

From top to bottom:
A small brush (#4?) visible only in reflection. I think I’ll take it out, since I only ever use the…
Niji water brush. I wouldn’t be a travel painter without it.
Non-photo blue pencil
Sakura brush pen
Sakura Micron Pigma 05 pen
Sakura Graphic 1 pen
4H pencil
B pencil (I’m not picky about these. I might take one out.)
Click eraser

I tried the new setup at drawing practice yesterday, and the white surface makes a big difference. I can’t wait to paint more!

2 Responses to “Travel Paintbox”

  1. i love this post so much i pinned it. the enamel idea is genius, and i adore photos of art supplies 🙂

  2. oooooh! i hate it when my typed emoticons turn into obnoxious smiley faces. please ignore them. i didn’t mean to yellow smiley face you. i just wanted to colon end parenthesis you.

Leave a Reply

