New Travel Sketchbooks

I’m doing well with sketchbooks this size. These are my third and fourth, which I planned to fill on my Midwest Odyssey (just got back last night).

The paper inside is Arches Watercolor HP natural white 90lb, which I cut down from a 22"x30" sheet. It is smooth, so it’s good for ink as well as watercolor, although I found myself wishing I could scrub out watercolor mistakes more easily, which I’ve found possible with other papers. The covers are Strathmore watercolor cardstock, 12"x8" or so, painted and stamped with acrylic paint. The books are bound with a double-X binding (invented by me) with whatever string or cord catches my eye.

Full covers:


This one doesn’t feel done yet, but I can add to it as I work in it.

Stay tuned for the daily diary art I did on the trip!

Leave a Reply

