The many ways Brian Eno helps with art

Painting is a humbling pursuit. I often feel stuck, so I make myself little encouraging notes. This time on Japanese stationery.

Listening to Brian Eno reminded me of his Oblique Strategies cards, which I have on my computer dashboard but would use more if they were on paper. So I made a few. Not the whole deck.

P.S. “Spinning Away” is the best Brian Eno song to listen to while drawing, because it’s about drawing and also the entire universe. The lyrics are on the covers of a couple of my sketchbooks. (For example this one.)

Leave a Reply

